Monday, May 22, 2017
     
Motor Vehicle
The Gray County Treasurer's Office is an agent of the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicles. We issue license plates upon receipt of proper documentation and submission of the correct fees. The fees include registration fees, personal property taxes, title fees and sales tax, if applicable.
 
Renewals
Renewal notices are mailed out as courtesy reminders six (6) weeks prior to the expiration date of the license plate. They are not forwarded to address changes.

Insurance
State law requires applicants to provide proof of insurance on each vehicle being registered. This can be an insurance card issued by the insurance company, or a photocopy thereof, a binder of insurance, a motor carrier ID number issued by the state corporation commission, fleet insurance.
 
Titles
Initial titling of vehicles when purchased is another function of the office. In order to title a vehicle, the applicant must have an assigned title or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin. The new owner has 30 days to bring the documents into the office for processing. After the 30 days, penalties will be assessed.

Vehicles with out-of-state titles must have a VIN inspection done before the vehicle can be titled in Kansas. This inspection is provided in the sheriff’s office. The cost is $10.00 cash or in-state checks only. This procedure is checking for stolen vehicles and matches the VIN number on the car to the one on the title. This is not a safety inspection.
 
Tags
License plates for cars, pick-ups, motorcycles and RVs in Kansas expire based on the first letter in the last name of the first person listed on the title.  You may renew your vehicle tags online at www.kswebtags.org.  This system makes it convenient for Kansas motorists to renew their vehicle registration electronically.  In addition, motorists may renew their vehicle registration using a touch-tone telephone by calling:
1-866-4KS-TAGS (457-8247)
The payment processor (credit card or e-check) charges a convenience fee for use of this service.

 

Vehicle Tag Schedule

Last name begins with: Tag expires at midnight on:

A

February 28 (or 29)

B

March 31

C - D

April 30

E - F - G

May 31

H - I

June 30

J - K - L

July 31

M - N - O

August 31

P - Q - R

September 30

S

October 31

T - V - W

November 30

U - X - Y - Z

December 31

Renewals on vehicles and trailers with a weight of 16,000 lbs. or more are issued beginning January 1 through the end of February (penalties will apply for renewals issued after this date).